Model assessment · Fizan

Fizan Compact 4 Trekking Poles — Beige / EVA Cork review

The exact U.S. retailer selector identifies a four-section telescoping Compact 4 with a seller-labelled EVA Cork handle and a listed 130 cm maximum. The seller SKU says Black despite the Beige selector; its maker article bridge and collapsed length are unresolved.

Sources checked 2026-11-02 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Beige-shaft Fizan Compact 4 seller image with light cork-toned handles, wrist straps and accessories.
The exact Beige / EVA Cork Compact 4 seller-option image; the seller SKU text conflicts on color and no package count is inferred from the image. Kaviso retailer product-listing image
A useful fit for

A source-supported candidate for someone seeking a four-section telescoping pole with a seller-labelled EVA Cork grip and a retailer-listed maximum of 130 cm. The exact seller selector and variant are identifiable, but its Black/Beige SKU wording and manufacturer article bridge remain unresolved.

The main tradeoff

The cork-like handle label does not disclose composition. The exact seller SKU says Black while its selected title says Beige, and the maker page at that route has shown separate article versions with different upper settings. The 130 cm maximum is a retailer listing claim, and no exact collapsed length is confirmed.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the Beige Compact 4 option meet a cork-or-cork-mix and twist-telescoping preference?

Kaviso labels the exact selection EVA Cork and its Compact 4 option uses a Flexy internal turn-adjusted lock with four telescoping sections. The label is treated as a broad cork-or-cork-mix match; the listing does not disclose cork content or establish pure natural cork. The variant SKU also says Black despite the Beige selector, so verify the exact option.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the selected Compact 4 meet a 130 cm required setting?

Kaviso lists 130 cm as the Compact 4 maximum, but Fizan's same official page route has shown different Compact 4 articles at 130 cm and 125 cm. Neither is bridged to this seller SKU; confirm the exact supplied article before treating 130 cm as essential.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the exact Beige EVA Cork selection have a verified collapsed dimension?

No. Kaviso describes Compact 4 as collapsing smaller than Compact 3 but gives no exact selected-SKU dimension. Manufacturer pages list 51 cm for distinct articles, and the exact crosswalk is unresolved, so no pack-limit match is credited.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are snow baskets confirmed in the Compact 4 EVA Cork package?

No. The seller identifies 35 mm and 50 mm hiking baskets and separately lists larger Alpine and Powder Pro options; the listing's basket-set count also conflicts. Snow baskets are not confirmed included.

Explore this need in the finder →

Evidence-based assessment; not a hands-on test. This review covers the exact standard Kaviso U.S. selector titled Compact 4 / Beige / EVA Cork, variant ID 43667497058532. The seller's SKU string for that option is “Fizan Compact 4T (Black),” which conflicts with the Beige selector label. I preserve both identifiers rather than silently correcting one. The four-section setup is distinct from Compact 3. Separate PCT and CDT collaboration product pages also contain Compact 4 / EVA Cork selectors; their exact variants are recorded below without merging the two editions.

A retailer-listed 130 cm maximum—with no settled article bridge

Kaviso's Compact 4 specification block describes four telescoping sections in 7001 aluminum, a listed 130 cm maximum and 6 oz (169 g) per pole. The seller's overview calls the model adjustable from 51 to 130 cm, but the page does not make clear whether the lower value is a usable working setting or a closed dimension. Its statement that Compact 4 collapses smaller than Compact 3 is comparative copy without an exact U.S. selector dimension, so this assessment leaves the collapsed length unconfirmed.

Official Fizan evidence makes the precise version important. A prior saved page capture at the route used for “compact-4-black” named a beige COMPACT TECH 4, Article 100-478, with 130 cm maximum, 51 cm closed and an EVA cork-like grip. The current official page at that same route presents a grey COMPACT 4, Article 100-012, with 125 cm maximum and a similar 51 cm closed value. Neither page crosswalks to Kaviso variant 43667497058532. The retailer's “(Black)” SKU alongside a Beige / EVA Cork selection adds another unresolved identity clue, not proof that either official article is the supplied item.

For that reason, the 130 cm figure here is clearly the exact retailer's claim for the selected option; it is not represented as a maker-certified article specification. If a 130 cm working setting is essential, confirm the actual product article or packaging with the seller before relying on it. A different article page, a familiar Compact 4 name or a matching photograph cannot close that bridge.

How to read the EVA Cork label

The exact selector calls its grip EVA Cork, which distinguishes it from the Light Blue EVA Foam selector. I map that name to the finder’s broad “Cork or cork-mix” choice because the seller explicitly labels it as a cork variant. But the listing does not disclose how much cork it contains, whether the material is a cork-EVA blend, or whether the handle is pure natural cork. Buyers for whom cork content or a specific grip feel is decisive should verify the selected variant's material details rather than infer them from color or texture in the image.

The cross-reference to Article 100-478 is especially tempting because the maker page calls its beige handle cork-like EVA. Yet it cannot resolve the SKU mismatch by itself: the manufacturer also has a separate current Compact 4 page at that route with a grey color, Article 100-012 and a lower maximum. The seller uses one combined product page for more than one style and grip; exact option IDs matter. Do not treat a model-family resemblance as a confirmed article mapping.

Flexy adjustment and the four-section design

The exact retail page names Fizan's Flexy internal locking system. The generic Fizan manual describes rotating an internal expander to tighten or loosen it, so the matcher classifies this as twist-style adjustment, not an external clamp. The manual is not specific to this Kaviso SKU; it explains the named system only. Set the pole according to the instructions supplied with the exact version, and do not force an adjustment past a marked limit.

Compact 4 adds a fourth section compared with the seller's Compact 3 and is described as smaller when collapsed. However, the seller listing gives no variant-level collapsed measurement for this option. Although the official pages for other Compact 4 articles say 51 cm closed, I do not use that value for this U.S. retail SKU. If your pack opening has a hard limit, verify the exact pole's dimension rather than using the low end of the setting span as a proxy.

Package facts and open basket questions

Kaviso's Included block says the package contains a pair of poles, straps and tip covers, and its feature/specification text names 35 mm and 50 mm hiking baskets. Larger 95 mm Alpine and 120 mm Powder Pro options are listed separately. As with the other Compact 3 & 4 selectors, the seller's introduction says three basket sets while its itemized sections state two. The precise set count remains unresolved. None of these facts confirms snow baskets in this selected package, and rubber tip covers do not establish integrated shock absorption.

The retailer's 169 g figure is explicitly per pole, not an independent measurement for this article. The image shows the Beige EVA Cork style and listed accessory components, but its visible pieces are not used to infer package quantity, included set count or performance.

Who this version might suit

On the seller's published details, the Beige / EVA Cork option may merit comparison if you want four telescoping sections, an internal twist-style lock, a handle the seller labels EVA Cork and a maximum setting claimed at 130 cm. The “may” matters: if you need that exact upper setting, the conflicting official article records mean you should check what is supplied. If you require a known pure-cork composition, an exact 50 cm packed length, included snow baskets, or a verified 130 cm manufacturer article, this evidence does not settle those conditions.

Compared with Compact 3, the Compact 4 listing shows an extra section and 11 g higher per-pole weight, while its retailer-listed maximum is 2 cm lower. The retailer describes a smaller collapse, but the U.S. option has no confirmed collapsed measurement here. No statement about superior portability, durability, strength or comfort follows from those specifications alone.

Before ordering this selector

  • Confirm the exact Beige / EVA Cork selector and reconcile the seller SKU “Fizan Compact 4T (Black)” with the option shown.
  • Ask which manufacturer article is being supplied if 130 cm reach is a hard requirement; the observed official versions at this route show 125 cm and 130 cm on different articles.
  • Do not treat 51 cm as a verified collapsed length or minimum working setting for this seller variant.
  • Check the exact basket kit: 35 mm and 50 mm are listed as hiking baskets; snow-oriented basket options are separate and basket-set count is inconsistent.
  • Verify grip composition if a particular cork percentage or material feel matters. No hands-on use, testing, measurement, ownership, personal-fit or current-stock claim is made here.

The separate PCT and CDT Compact 4 / EVA Cork selectors are reviewed independently in the PCT edition review and CDT edition review. Their own retailer pages do not identify a locking mechanism or manufacturer article, so do not assume they share this standard Beige option’s Flexy claim or 130 cm seller maximum.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Maximum usable length130 cm
Published weight entries (mapping or basis may be unclear) g
Published collapsed-length entries (size mapping may be unclear) cm
Adjustable working lengthYes
Shaft materialAluminum
Adjustment lockTwist lock
Grip materialCork or cork-mix
Shaft sections4
Included baskets35 mm hiking basket / 50 mm hiking basket
Available usable-length ranges
Published collapsed-length entries (size mapping unclear) cm
Published weight entries (mapping or basis may be unclear) g
Shaft storage designTelescoping

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Build a shortlist around your pole-length and trail needs.

The finder compares only documented settings and supplied features. Unknown details are not treated as a match.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →