Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
How does the Hiker Staff differ from Walker Staff?
Hiker Staff extends to 139.7 cm and collapses to 66 cm, while Walker Staff tops out at 100 cm and collapses to 50.8 cm. Both are single staffs; Hiker adds the cork camera-mount knob and EVA sleeve.
Explore this need in the finder →Can the Hiker Staff double as a camera monopod?
Yes, the exact page says the top cork knob unscrews for use as a camera monopod mount. Confirm the mount interface and your camera setup separately; the page does not specify every camera thread or load restriction.
Explore this need in the finder →What grip material should I choose in the finder?
The listing’s grip material filter is Foam. The product also has a distinct injected-cork top knob and an EVA lower sleeve, so it is not the same as a full-length cork-grip staff.
Explore this need in the finder →Evidence-based assessment; not a hands-on test. REI Co-op’s Hiker Staff is a single adjustable staff with a camera-mount function. Its exact page lists a 66–139.7 cm span, 66 cm collapsed length and 11.5 ounces for one staff. The shaft is identified as 7075-T6 aluminum with external cam locks; the top knob is injected cork and unscrews to expose the camera mount, while a lower EVA sleeve provides another grip area.
One staff with an unusually broad range
The 139.7 cm maximum reaches into the range of many matched trekking-pole pairs, but the package is one pole. A buyer choosing it should decide whether the single-staff format matches the way they plan to use it before comparing maximum length or weight with a pair. A pair gives two poles; the Hiker Staff does not become one simply because its product page includes a high reach.
The product’s lower endpoint is 66 cm and its collapsed length is also 66 cm, so the listing provides no compact fold below that dimension. Measure the actual storage opening, not just internal pack length. A 66 cm pole can be too long for an otherwise spacious bag if it cannot pass through the opening or be removed on the trail. The page describes three sections and telescoping adjustment; it does not describe a folding Z-pole bundle.
Hybrid grip surfaces and a camera-mount knob
REI labels the main grip material as foam and specifies an injected-cork top knob with an EVA lower sleeve. These are two distinct hand-contact surfaces rather than a full-length cork handle. The product page says the knob unscrews for use as a camera monopod mount. That is a specific feature, but the page does not state a camera-thread size, compatible camera list or load limit. Check the actual interface before relying on it for a camera setup.
An adjustable wrist strap and one trekking basket are listed. The page describes a telescoping external cam system and reminds users that lever tension may loosen during transport or over time. It directs users to ensure that the levers are fully tightened and locked before each use. The words “support your weight” in its descriptive copy are not a formal load rating, strength test or promise that the pole is appropriate for medical or mobility support. Use the specific manufacturer instructions and confirm the intended load with the maker if that question matters.
How it differs from REI’s Walker Staff and pole pairs
Walker Staff is also a single pole but tops out at 100 cm, uses an injected-cork grip and has no camera-mount claim in its feature list. Hiker Staff reaches 139.7 cm, collapses to 66 cm and uses the cork knob plus EVA sleeve. Those differences support distinct choices: a shorter walking staff, or a higher-reaching adjustable staff that can mount a camera. Neither is a matched pair.
Among the observed REI trekking-pole pairs, Traverse offers a cork grip and size-specific 120 or 140 cm maximums. Flash Carbon offers a telescoping carbon-composite pair, while Swiftland TT folds more compactly but only in fixed lengths. These are not interchangeable setups. The Hiker Staff’s single quantity and camera knob are the differentiators; a camera feature should not conceal the longer collapsed dimension or the fact that only one pole is supplied.
Who should look closer, and what to verify
Hiker Staff merits comparison if you specifically want a single adjustable staff with a 139.7 cm upper setting, a cork knob, an EVA sleeve, external locks and a camera-mount use. It is not suitable as a pair purchase, for a strict sub-66-cm packing limit, or if your required grip is exclusively cork or exclusively foam across the full hand area. Snow baskets and shock absorption are not documented in the exact package.
Before buying, confirm page 184730, the Sea Olive color, one-staff quantity, range and 66 cm collapsed length. Check that the grip surfaces and strap suit the intended hand position, the camera interface matches your equipment, and the levers can be tightened as directed. Verify additional winter or pavement accessories by exact compatibility and inclusion; neither should be inferred from a separate listing. No independent strength, camera-load, shock, comfort or durability testing is claimed. The official category page documents that REI listed this staff at the time checked, not present inventory or suitability for a particular person.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Collapsed length | 66 cm |
|---|---|
| Adjustable working length | Yes |
| Shaft material | 7075 aluminum |
| Adjustment lock | External lever clamp |
| Grip material | EVA foam |
| Shaft sections | 3 |
| Included baskets | Trekking basket |
| Shaft storage design | Telescoping |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Build a shortlist around your pole-length and trail needs.
The finder compares only documented settings and supplied features. Unknown details are not treated as a match.
