Model assessment · Komperdell

Komperdell Trailhunter Zero Trekking Pole review

Three-section telescoping 7075-T6 aluminum pole with a 105–140 cm range, Twist Lock and 65 cm listed packed length; the grip is described as foam but its specific material is not stated.

Sources checked 2026-10-31 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Komperdell Trailhunter Zero poles with gray shafts, dark foam-shaped grips, wrist straps, telescoping sections and twist-lock collars against white.
Exact Trailhunter Zero article image with a 65 cm listing graphic; the image is not a package-quantity or fit guarantee. Komperdell manufacturer image
A useful fit for

A documented 105–140 cm telescoping option with a Twist Lock and 65 cm listed pack length for buyers whose measured requirements fit that plan.

The main tradeoff

The listed reach stops at 140 cm and the pack dimension is 65 cm; the grip is called foam but its material is not specified, while exact package quantity and snow-basket inclusion remain unconfirmed.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does Trailhunter Zero reach a 140 cm setting with a twist lock?

Yes. The exact U.S. product number K1742369-21-Tele and catalog article 174 23 69-21 are listed at 105–140 cm with telescoping adjustment and Twist Lock. The 140 cm value is the upper endpoint; do not extend beyond the manufacturer's maximum mark.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is the Trailhunter Zero foam grip confirmed as EVA?

No. The page and both catalogs call it foam but do not specify EVA. The finder therefore does not count it as a confirmed EVA grip; choose a model whose source explicitly names that material if it is essential.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are snow baskets confirmed in the exact Trailhunter Zero package?

No. The U.S. page describes a Vario system and both Trekbooks list Mini UL Vario, but the materials reviewed do not establish a dedicated snow basket in the exact seller package. Confirm contents before buying if this is essential.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Komperdell Trailhunter Zero is a current-reference, three-section telescoping aluminum pole with a listed 105–140 cm range, twist lock and 65 cm packed dimension. That makes it a conventional-reach choice with a different lock and grip description from the nearby Trailmaster Zero models. The exact U.S. product number is K1742369-21-Tele, article 174 23 69-21. The maker calls the grip soft foam, but the reviewed page and catalog do not identify the foam as EVA, so this assessment does not classify its material more narrowly.

One exact Trailhunter article, not a name-based merge

The U.S. manufacturer page identifies Trailhunter Zero and product number K1742369-21-Tele. Both Komperdell's 2026 and 2027 Trekbooks show Trailhunter Zero as article 174 23 69-21 and repeat its 105–140 cm adjustment, 65 cm packed listing, 212 g listed weight, 7075-T6 aluminum construction, Twist Lock and foam comfort grip. This agreement supports one current product assessment. It does not make the similar Trailmaster Zero or the differently named Trekmaster Zero the same model. Check the exact product number and article rather than selecting by a shortened family name.

Reach and packing dimensions

The telescoping range runs from 105 to 140 cm. The upper endpoint can meet a measured 140 cm setting, but it is not evidence that a longer setting is supported; Komperdell warns not to extend a telescoping pole beyond its maximum mark. A 65 cm packed length is useful when comparing a pole with the clear length of a pack compartment, but the listing is not a guarantee that a loaded bag opening, sleeve or travel case will accept it. Measure usable clearance rather than relying on a nominal bag size. Komperdell lists the weight as 212 g on the product page and catalog, without stating whether that is per pole or per pair. Treat it as a manufacturer figure with an unresolved basis, not as a measured pair weight. The exact retail offer's quantity is also not established by the photographed pair: the image identifies a model and size graphic, not what a seller will ship.

Twist lock and foam grip

The page and both catalog editions identify a Twist Lock, and the product's care instructions refer to a telescoping shaft and lock. This differs from the external Powerlock lever on Komperdell's Trailmaster Zero and Trailmaster Zero Comp. Which lock is preferable is a personal handling choice; the available sources document the mechanism but do not compare holding force, field reliability or adjustment speed under use. The grip is called a trekking foam comfort grip or soft foam grip. The sources do not explicitly label it EVA, so the finder treats the material as unclassified instead of converting the broad word “foam” into a material claim. A comfort descriptor is the manufacturer's wording, not an independent fit or durability result. The Comfort Padded strap is listed separately; inspect its adjustment and wrist-loop instructions before use.

Baskets, tip and exact package

The current page describes a Vario basket system as changeable for summer and winter use. The 2026 and 2027 Trekbooks name a Mini UL Vario basket and a Flex Carbide tip. These are useful configuration clues, but the sources do not confirm that a separate snow basket is supplied in every exact retail package. If winter baskets, rubber tips, a storage bag or a pair rather than one pole are essential, ask the seller to verify the contents against K1742369-21-Tele. The product photo shows catalog hardware, not proof of package quantity or accessory inclusion. Komperdell's care guidance says to dry and clean telescoping poles after use, store them released, avoid lubricants in the shafts or lock, and stop at the maximum extension mark. Follow the current model instructions rather than assuming another brand's lever-lock procedure applies.

Where the comparisons matter

The standard Trailmaster Zero has the same listed 105–140 cm reach but uses an external Powerlock 3.0 lever, an explicitly identified EVA-foam grip and a 64 cm pack listing. The Highlander Zero also reaches 140 cm, uses a cork grip and Twist Lock, and lists 66 cm packed. Trailhunter sits between those listed pack dimensions at 65 cm, but its grip material remains unspecified. These are three exact configurations, not a single interchangeable “Zero” family. For a shorter compartment, the Trailmaster Zero Comp is a separate 90–120 cm plan at 57 cm packed; its shorter reach should not be borrowed for Trailhunter. This model is worth comparing when your chosen adjustment method and twist lock, 105–140 cm reach and 65 cm listed packed length fit your needs. Look elsewhere if you require a confirmed EVA, cork or rubber grip; an upper setting beyond 140 cm; a particular snow-basket package; or verified pair quantity. The assessment uses the cited manufacturer material and does not claim field testing, personal use, independent weight measurement or guaranteed fit. Check the exact code, contents, condition, instructions and seller terms before deciding.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Minimum usable length105 cm
Maximum usable length140 cm
Collapsed length65 cm
Manufacturer-listed weight (basis shown in product notes)212 g
Adjustable working lengthYes
Shaft materialAluminum 7075 t6
Adjustment lockTwist lock
Shaft sections3
Included basketsMini UL Vario basket listed in the 2026 and 2027 catalogs; exact retail-package contents are not confirmed
Available usable-length ranges105–140 cm
Shaft storage designTelescoping

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Build a shortlist around your pole-length and trail needs.

The finder compares only documented settings and supplied features. Unknown details are not treated as a match.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →