Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What reach and folded length does the Summit Comp actually list?
The exact K1942383-10-Tele page lists 105–125 cm adjustment and 40 cm packed length. Check your actual pole setting and storage opening; the page does not convert body height into fit.
Explore this need in the finder →Is the Summit Comp telescoping or a folding pole with a separate length lock?
Komperdell lists a four-section FX Lite folding mechanism and a separate Powerlock 3.0 lever. The sections fold for packing; the adjustable working range is secured with the external lever.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the product page prove two poles or snow baskets in every offer?
No. Its photograph shows two poles and visible baskets, but the exact page does not confirm seller item count, a snow-basket package, tip contents or storage bag. If snow baskets must be supplied, compare only offers that state that explicitly.
Explore this need in the finder →This is a source-based assessment of Komperdell’s current U.S. page for the FX L Carb Vario Summit Comp, not a hands-on review. The exact page identifies product K1942383-10-Tele and lists a 105–125 cm working range, 40 cm packed length and 227 g. Those are manufacturer specifications; the page does not state whether the listed mass is for one pole or a pair.

Its useful distinction is the shorter adjustment window
The Summit Comp adjusts from 105 to 125 cm. That range, rather than the “Comp” label, is the meaningful buying distinction: it begins 10 cm below and ends 10 cm below the standard FX L Carb Vario Summit. Measure the setting you actually need with your hands in the grip position you use, including on the kind of slope where you expect to place the pole. If your checked setting is above 125 cm, this configuration does not document enough reach; if you need a lower setting than 105 cm, the page does not give it. These limits should not be converted from body height with a simple formula.
Komperdell lists 40 cm packed. That is a useful planning figure for a backpack side pocket or storage space, but a nominally 40 cm opening may leave no room to maneuver around a tip, strap or folded joints. Check clearance against the item you intend to carry, not just a label on a bag.
Folding layout and in-use adjustment are separate features
This is a four-section carbon pole with the manufacturer’s 18/16 mm shaft description and FX Lite folding mechanism. The page says the pole unfolds by itself and then needs to be clicked and fixed. It separately lists Powerlock 3.0, which Komperdell describes as a forged-aluminum lever lock for adjustment. In other words, “folding” describes pack-down; it does not mean the working length is fixed or that the folding join is the same thing as its length lock. The manufacturer’s wording does not demonstrate how quickly a new owner can deploy it or how securely a lock holds under a particular load.
The official page names a Trek Pro 245 cork grip with an extended grip zone and a Comfort Padded Strap. Those details support a cork-material preference and a longer grip area, but they do not establish that the handle will be comfortable for a particular hand or that the strap is an appropriate safety restraint. Try the grip and read the current adjustment instructions if either matters to you.
How it compares with the other FX L Carb Vario poles
The standard Summit reaches 115–135 cm, packs to 41 cm and is listed at 236 g; it shares the Summit’s all-carbon shaft wording, cork grip, folding layout and lever adjustment. The Summit Comp therefore trades away some high-end reach for a 1 cm shorter listing and a 9 g lower listed mass. Because the manufacturer gives no pole-versus-pair basis, that weight difference is a catalog comparison, not a measured saving in a carried pair.
The two Approach versions use a different documented shaft recipe: the page lists a 7075-T6 aluminum section at 18 mm and carbon at 16 mm. The Approach Comp shares the Summit Comp’s 105–125 cm and 40 cm figures, while regular Approach reaches 115–135 cm. Neither Approach page identifies its grip material, so it should not be substituted for the cork Summit Comp in a cork-required shortlist. The Approach name alone is not evidence of a specific terrain advantage.
What remains unconfirmed
The exact page does not specify a seller’s item count, storage bag, snow-basket package, tip package or an integrated shock system. The product photograph includes visible baskets and shows two poles; neither is package documentation. The page’s replacement-tip video title is not evidence of the precise included tip. There is also no independent flex, impact, lock-hold, fatigue or trail-use test behind this assessment. Treat “light” and the listed mass as manufacturer language, not as comparative performance proof.
Before choosing a seller
Check the exact product name and K1942383-10-Tele code, then verify that the advertised reach and packed size still match the configuration offered. Confirm pole count, basket and tip contents, return conditions, and the storage clearance you need. The manufacturer’s care text says to dry and clean the poles after use, store telescopic poles with the lock released, avoid lubricant on or in the shafts and locking system, and never extend beyond the maximum-length mark. The defensible case for this model is narrow: it is the shorter-range all-carbon Summit variant with a 40 cm listed pack length, cork extended grip and Powerlock adjustment; package details, mass basis and personal fit still require checking.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Minimum usable length | 105 cm |
|---|---|
| Maximum usable length | 125 cm |
| Collapsed length | 40 cm |
| Manufacturer-listed weight (basis shown in product notes) | 227 g |
| Published weight entries (mapping or basis may be unclear) | 227 g |
| Adjustable working length | Yes |
| Shaft material | Carbon |
| Adjustment lock | External lever clamp |
| Grip material | Cork or cork-mix |
| Shaft sections | 4 |
| Extended grip section | No |
| Available usable-length ranges | 105–125 cm |
| Published weight entries (mapping or basis may be unclear) | 227 g |
| Shaft storage design | Folding Z-pole |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Build a shortlist around your pole-length and trail needs.
The finder compares only documented settings and supplied features. Unknown details are not treated as a match.