Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What usable reach and folded dimension does Approach Comp document?
The exact K1942385-10-Tele page lists 105–125 cm and 40 cm packed. The regular Approach reaches 115–135 cm but is also listed at 40 cm packed; check your real pole setting and storage clearance.
Explore this need in the finder →Can I filter the Approach Comp by cork, EVA foam or rubber grip?
Not from this page. It calls the handle Trek Pro 245 with an extended grip zone but does not name a material. Because an unknown value does not satisfy a required grip preference, verify the exact material before choosing it on that basis.
Explore this need in the finder →Does 230 g establish the weight of a pair or the package contents?
No. The exact page gives 230 g without a pole-versus-pair basis and does not state seller pole count, basket package, tip contents or bag. The photo is not evidence for a particular offer.
Explore this need in the finder →This assessment is based on the Komperdell U.S. product page for FX L Carb Vario Appr Comp, K1942385-10-Tele, rather than on personal use. The page lists a 105–125 cm adjustment range, 40 cm packed length and a 230 g weight figure. It gives no pole-versus-pair basis for that mass, so the number is kept as a manufacturer listing, not presented as measured weight.

A shorter reach within the Approach family
Approach Comp is the lower-range counterpart to the regular FX L Carb Vario Approach. The exact page gives 105–125 cm, while regular Approach is 115–135 cm. This is a meaningful 10 cm shift at each end, not simply a cosmetic compact name. If your measured setup needs to rise above 125 cm, the Comp page does not document that reach. If your usable setting falls below 105 cm, it does not document that lower end either. Use a real pole-setting check, including how you hold the grip on your usual terrain; the manufacturer’s size numbers do not calculate fit from body height.
Both Approach configurations are listed at 40 cm packed, so the Compact name does not buy a shorter specified folded length within this pair. Where the smaller version differs is in working range and its listed mass: 230 g for Comp against 241 g for regular Approach. As neither page states whether the number is for a pole or a pair, this 11 g gap is not an independently measured saving.
Construction and adjustment details
The product page identifies four sections with 7075-T6 aluminum at 18 mm and carbon at 16 mm. The page calls the pole a durable carbon folding design, but the detailed material line shows a mixed construction. FX Lite is the named folding mechanism and is described as unfolding by itself before the user clicks and fixes the sections. Powerlock 3.0 is separately described as a forged-aluminum lever for securing the adjustable length. The sources therefore support a folding layout plus a lever-adjusted working range, not a fixed staff or a corded-button joint.
Komperdell names a Trek Pro 245 grip with an extended grip zone and a Comfort Padded Strap. The page does not state the grip material, so I leave material preferences unmatched rather than infer from an image or the Trek Pro name. The strap name similarly cannot tell us whether it suits a particular wrist, glove or hand position. No independent lock, grip, flex, impact or durability test accompanies this assessment.
Compare it with the Summit Comp carefully
Summit Comp shares this model’s 105–125 cm range and 40 cm packed figure, and its listed mass is 227 g. But Summit Comp is specified as carbon 18/16 mm with a cork Trek Pro 245 grip; Approach Comp uses the aluminum-and-carbon shaft description and does not identify the grip material. If your selection depends on cork or all-carbon construction, they are not interchangeable even though their length and pack figures coincide.
The standard Summit extends to 135 cm but lists 41 cm packed, and regular Approach extends to 135 cm while remaining 40 cm packed. Their material descriptions differ: Summit is listed as carbon, while Approach is mixed aluminum and carbon. The exact tradeoff is better expressed as documented reach, collapsed length and construction than as a claim about which design performs better on a hike.
Package and use limits
The current U.S. page does not establish the seller’s pole count, the contents of any bag, which baskets are included, a precise tip configuration or integrated shock absorption. Product photographs show multiple components and two poles, but do not prove what arrives in every offer. The 230 g listing is not tied to one pole or a pair. Also, the word “Approach” does not establish a specialized use or compatibility with separate equipment.
Checks before ordering
Match the title and exact code K1942385-10-Tele, and verify that a seller is offering the 105–125 cm Approach Comp, not regular Approach. Measure the real storage opening against 40 cm and check the actual package contents, return terms and availability. Komperdell advises drying and cleaning after use, storing telescopic poles with their locks released, keeping lubricant away from shafts and locking systems, and not extending past the maximum mark. The supported use case is a folding mixed-material pole with a shorter 105–125 cm range and 40 cm listed pack length. Personal fit, grip material and seller package remain unverified.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Minimum usable length | 105 cm |
|---|---|
| Maximum usable length | 125 cm |
| Collapsed length | 40 cm |
| Manufacturer-listed weight (basis shown in product notes) | 230 g |
| Published weight entries (mapping or basis may be unclear) | 230 g |
| Adjustable working length | Yes |
| Shaft material | 7075 t6 aluminum and carbon |
| Adjustment lock | External lever clamp |
| Shaft sections | 4 |
| Extended grip section | No |
| Available usable-length ranges | 105–125 cm |
| Published weight entries (mapping or basis may be unclear) | 230 g |
| Shaft storage design | Folding Z-pole |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Build a shortlist around your pole-length and trail needs.
The finder compares only documented settings and supplied features. Unknown details are not treated as a match.