Model assessment · Komperdell

Komperdell Explorer Contour Cork Trekking Pole review

Three-section 7075-T6 aluminum telescoping pole with a 105–140 cm range, 65 cm listed packed length, corkgrip and Powerlock 3.0; package quantity and dedicated snow-basket inclusion are not confirmed.

Sources checked 2026-10-31 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Komperdell Explorer Contour Cork telescoping poles with cork-colored extended grips, straps and baskets against white.
Official Komperdell product-page image for Explorer Contour Cork K1742318-10-Tele; package contents are not inferred. Komperdell manufacturer image
A useful fit for

A source-documented telescoping, external-lever option when a measured setting lies within 105–140 cm, a cork grip is wanted and a 65 cm storage allowance works; the exact grip fit and package remain personal checks.

The main tradeoff

The listed 65 cm packed length may not suit a short compartment. The page does not state the 245 g basis or confirm package quantity or included snow-basket equipment; it also supplies no independent performance evidence.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the exact Explorer Contour Cork reach 140 cm while fitting a 65 cm storage limit?

The K1742318-10-Tele page lists an adjustable 105–140 cm range and 65 cm packed length. It meets those nominal thresholds exactly; allow real clearance and check the setting that suits your technique rather than translating height directly into pole length.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is the grip material documented as cork or only unspecified foam?

The exact product page names a Trek Pro Foam 280 corkgrip and an extended grip zone. That wording supports a cork classification for this product, but it does not promise a particular hand feel or provide a cork percentage.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the exact page confirm a supplied snow basket and an integrated shock system?

No. It describes a Vario basket system and separately presents winter-basket accessories, but it does not confirm a snow basket in the exact package; it also does not document an integrated shock system. Do not substitute compatibility or the product image for a package list.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Explorer Contour Cork is a three-section adjustable pole in Komperdell’s U.S. Trekking Aluminium collection. Its exact U.S. product number is K1742318-10-Tele. The manufacturer lists a 105–140 cm working range, 65 cm packed length and 245 g weight, without stating whether that weight is per pole or pair. Treat the figure as a manufacturer listing, not a measured comparison. This page is about this exact SKU; the name is not interchangeable with Explorer Zero Cork or other Explorer models.

What the specification supports

Komperdell describes three aluminum 7075-T6 sections at 18/16/14 mm, a Powerlock 3.0 mechanism and a Trek Pro Foam 280 corkgrip with an extended grip zone. The range and length-adjustable product description support a telescoping, external-lever setup. The extended handle area can be useful when changing hand position on a slope without resetting the shaft, but the listed feature is not a substitute for selecting a suitable fixed setting. The cork wording supports the site’s cork/cork-mix filter; it does not establish that every user will find this shape comfortable.

The page lists a Comfort padded strap and a Vario basket system. That tells a shopper the manufacturer presents the basket interface as changeable; it does not confirm that a dedicated snow basket, storage bag, or a particular number of poles comes in the exact retail package. Check the seller’s contents against the exact product number before relying on winter accessories. A compatible basket sold separately is not an included basket.

Reach and packing tradeoff

The 105–140 cm interval makes the Contour Cork a plausible candidate when a measured working length falls in that interval. Its listed 65 cm packed size is not especially compact compared with folding designs, and the 65 cm figure gives no spare room in a storage compartment that measures exactly 65 cm. Measure the narrowest opening and allow for seams, caps or other obstructions rather than treating the catalog number as a guarantee of fit. If your storage ceiling is much shorter, compare a verified folding model instead.

The same U.S. collection also lists different Explorer names and product numbers. Explorer Zero Cork and Explorer Zero Cork Comp are separate assessments, not color or length options of K1742318-10-Tele. The Contour page’s 105–140 cm range and 65 cm packed value should not be borrowed across those listings. In particular, do not assume the words “Explorer” or “Cork” prove identical grip geometry, shaft, weight basis or included equipment.

Limits of the source record

The exact manufacturer page is the primary source for the product number and its current stated specifications. The saved Komperdell 2026 and 2027 Trekbooks were checked for this name and number but do not provide a matching article block, so this review does not invent an article-number bridge or use another product’s catalog facts. The U.S. collection card and direct product page identify a trekking pole rather than a spare part. They do not establish long-term availability, a current independent stock state, retail package quantity, a model-specific recall status, or performance on trail.

The maker instructs owners to clean and dry the pole after use, store telescoping poles with the lock released rather than fixed, avoid lubricant on or inside the shafts and lock, and never extend past the maximum mark. Those are maintenance limits, not evidence of a particular field lifespan. Follow the instructions that arrive with the exact listing, and stop using a section or lock that will not secure properly.

Who should compare it

Consider this configuration if you want documented cork grip material, external-lever length adjustment, an extended grip zone, and reach up to the listed 140 cm maximum, while a 65 cm storage length is acceptable. The Shockmaster Cork Powerlock is a distinct telescoping cork-grip listing with a documented anti-shock tip, but it is heavier in the manufacturer’s stated figures and packs longer; the compact Ridgehiker Zero Comp has a much shorter 90–120 cm reach and a smaller 57 cm packed figure. These are specification differences, not performance rankings. The source pages do not report comparative testing, and no hands-on test is claimed here.

Before ordering, confirm that the offer names K1742318-10-Tele, that its included strap and basket details match your needs, and that your measured pole setting and storage space fit the stated range. The product photo is an identification aid, not proof of box contents. This research-based assessment is not a claim of personal ownership or use.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Minimum usable length105 cm
Maximum usable length140 cm
Collapsed length65 cm
Manufacturer-listed weight (basis shown in product notes)245 g
Adjustable working lengthYes
Shaft materialAluminum 7075 t6
Adjustment lockExternal lever clamp
Grip materialCork or cork-mix
Shaft sections3
Included basketsVario basket system; exact supplied basket type is not specified
Extended grip sectionNo
Available usable-length ranges105–140 cm
Shaft storage designTelescoping

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Build a shortlist around your pole-length and trail needs.

The finder compares only documented settings and supplied features. Unknown details are not treated as a match.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →