Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Can the Trail Three 130 cm size fit a 45 cm finder ceiling?
Grivel's manual lists the 130 cm Trail Three size as folding to 44 cm, so it fits the next valid five-centimeter finder ceiling of 45 cm. That is a manufacturer pole dimension, not a measurement of your pack opening; leave clearance and confirm the exact POTRL.3.130 SKU.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the Trail Three page identify the foam grip as EVA?
No. The page calls it a foam grip without identifying the foam subtype. The matcher's EVA choice therefore does not include this model on the basis of the generic foam wording.
Explore this need in the finder →Are snow baskets confirmed in the Trail Three offer?
No. The manual shows a basket-change procedure, but neither it nor the product page confirms snow baskets in the package. Check the exact seller package if that accessory is essential.
Explore this need in the finder →Evidence-based assessment; not a hands-on test. Grivel's Trail Three combines three folding sections with size-specific working lengths and a genuinely useful storage table in its instruction sheet. The U.S. product page lists 112, 122 and 130 cm SKUs; the manual pairs those exact sizes with folded lengths of 38, 41 and 44 cm. The weight listing is 195, 199 and 212 g per piece in the same size order. These are manufacturer specifications, not measurements taken for this review.
Three sizes, not a published continuous range
The page presents three separate size selections rather than a telescoping adjustment range. The instruction sheet includes a pole-adjustment diagram, and its drawing shows a clamp lever used in the adjustment procedure, but it does not publish a minimum usable length for each size. For matching purposes the chosen size is a documented upper working length only: 112, 122 or 130 cm. Do not assume that a 130 cm SKU reaches any particular lower endpoint because a drawing shows an adjustment step. If you need several users to share the same pole or want a known short setting for steep descents, ask Grivel for the exact adjustment limits for the size in question.
For packing, the manual's table is more useful: 112 cm folds to 38 cm, 122 cm to 41 cm and 130 cm to 44 cm. A 44 cm pole is not a promise that it will pass through a 44 cm pack opening; collars, baskets, tips and the route of insertion can add practical clearance needs. Measure the actual storage path. Still, these explicit folded figures make Trail Three a more evidence-supported compact choice than the one-piece Trail 1, which has no collapsed-length claim.
Folding for transport brings a setup step
Grivel identifies a folding system and three sections. The manual diagrams pole adjustment and strap adjustment; read and follow the current instructions rather than forcing a joint or relying on this summary for assembly. Folding poles generally require correct deployment and joint seating before use, but no independent strength or safety test has been performed here. The product image is a manufacturer depiction, not evidence of parts included or a photo of the exact package contents.
Trail Three's long foam grip may offer more hand positions than a short molded grip, but Grivel does not name the foam as EVA or provide a tested comfort claim. The manual shows how to change a basket but neither the current product page nor the manual's diagram establishes which baskets are supplied. That is an important difference from the exact Trail 1 description, which explicitly says summer and winter baskets are supplied. Do not treat “multi-season baskets” in Trail Three's descriptive copy as proof of the exact included kit; confirm the current seller package if a winter basket is essential. The integrated shock-system field is also not stated, so it should not be treated as a shock-absorbing pole.
Compare the other Grivel options by the real distinction
The Trail Vario is listed at 105–130 cm and 237 g per piece, adding a continuous product-page range while retaining folding construction. Its manual's separate 112/122/130 cm folded-size chart is not clearly linked to separate current U.S. size SKUs, so this assessment does not use those figures to satisfy a packed-length ceiling. The Explorer Vario 3 is a different, telescoping choice with 110–140 cm reach and a 66 cm manufacturer-listed collapsed length. Its manual explicitly includes summer and winter baskets, but the longer collapsed dimension may not work for a short pack.
These distinctions matter more than a broad “compact” label. Trail Three's stated weight rises with the size choice, and the 130 cm configuration is both the heaviest listed size and the longest folded configuration. The page labels the weights per piece, not per pair, and does not state the retail pole quantity. Verify the exact SKU and whether the listing is for one pole or a pair; do not infer quantity from a photograph showing two poles.
Where the evidence stops
The available sources support the three size/SKU identities, folded lengths, per-piece weights, aluminum construction, foam grip and folding system. They do not establish exact foam chemistry, supplied basket types, package quantity, lower usable-length limits or integrated shock absorption. No field use, durability test, snow-traction test or side-by-side weighing has been performed. If any of those unconfirmed details decide the purchase, get model-and-size-specific confirmation before relying on them.
- Match the selected POTRL.3 size to both your measured reach and folded-space ceiling.
- Use 38, 41 or 44 cm as manufacturer figures for the matching size; leave extra physical clearance in the pack.
- Ask about the minimum setting, exact supplied baskets and package quantity.
- Follow Grivel's adjustment and assembly instructions; a folded design is not a claim of tested joint durability.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Published weight entries (mapping or basis may be unclear) | 195 / 199 / 212 g |
|---|---|
| Published collapsed-length entries (size mapping may be unclear) | 38 / 41 / 44 cm |
| Adjustable working length | Yes |
| Shaft material | Aluminum |
| Adjustment lock | External lever clamp |
| Shaft sections | 3 |
| Available usable-length ranges | 112 / 122 / 130 |
| Published collapsed-length entries (size mapping unclear) | 38 / 41 / 44 cm |
| Published weight entries (mapping or basis may be unclear) | 195 / 199 / 212 g |
| Shaft storage design | Folding Z-pole |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Build a shortlist around your pole-length and trail needs.
The finder compares only documented settings and supplied features. Unknown details are not treated as a match.
