Model assessment · Expedition Outdoors

Expedition Outdoors Carbon Tek Quick Release Trekking Pole review

A three-section carbon-fiber quick-release pole with a cork grip and a listed 25–53-inch working span; the collapsed dimension and exact package quantity are not stated.

Sources checked 2026-11-01 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Expedition Outdoors Carbon Tek Quick Release trekking poles with dark carbon-fiber shafts, cork-colored grips and external quick-release clamps.
Exact Expedition Outdoors CFTQR manufacturer image; a pair-like arrangement and loose parts are pictured, but the image is not evidence of shipped quantity or included accessories. Expedition Outdoors manufacturer image hosted by Cascade Mountain Tech
A useful fit for

A research-based match for shoppers who want a carbon-fiber three-section quick-release pole with a cork grip and a documented 135 cm upper working setting.

The main tradeoff

The exact page gives no collapsed length, snow-basket inclusion, or clear shipped quantity, and its listed weights are per pole rather than a pair.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

What separates the CFTQR from the Carbon Tek Twist Lock?

The CFTQR source names a quick-release lock, carbon-fiber shaft, cork grip and three sections; its exact SKU is CFTQR. The separately listed CFTP model is the twist-lock version. Do not transfer the latter's shock feature or lower EVA grip to this item.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does its listed reach prove a compact pack size?

No. The page lists a 25–53 in working range, reaching 135 cm, but no assembled collapsed dimension. The 25 in minimum is a working-length endpoint, not a documented packed length.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are snow baskets confirmed in the CFTQR package?

The written listing names mud baskets and rubber tips, not snow baskets. Because snow-basket inclusion is not documented, this source-based assessment does not count CFTQR as a confirmed match for that essential requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →

This is a source-based assessment of Expedition Outdoors’ U.S.-listed Carbon Tek Quick Release Trekking Pole, product SKU CFTQR, hosted on Cascade Mountain Tech’s site. I have not used, owned or measured this pole. The listing supports a fairly specific profile: carbon-fiber shaft, cork grip, three sections, an external quick-release clamp and a 25–53-inch working span. It does not settle some practical shopping questions, especially the collapsed length, included snow baskets and exact package quantity.

What CFTQR is—and what it is not

The product feed identifies the vendor as Expedition Outdoors and gives CFTQR as the default listing SKU. That makes it different from Cascade Mountain Tech’s own Quick Lock cork products, even though the listings share a host and sit beside each other in the same collection. It is also a different Carbon Tek model from the CFTP Twist Lock. The two names describe different adjustment hardware, so their feature claims should not be merged.

For CFTQR, the written product page specifies carbon-fiber shaft construction, a cork grip, three sections, and a Quick Release length lock. Its gallery includes a close-up of a hinged clamp attached to the overlapping shafts. That image supports treating the lock as an external lever for matching, but it does not reveal the exact adjustment or maintenance procedure. Use the instructions for the precise version rather than assuming it behaves just like another manufacturer’s quick lock.

Read the range as working length, not pack size

The page lists 25 inches (63.5 cm) at the low end and 53 inches (135 cm) at the high end. These are working settings. The upper figure is a useful threshold for checking whether the documented range reaches a requested setting; it is not a recommendation for a particular body or gait. The page does not state an assembled collapsed length. In particular, the 25-inch minimum is not a substitute for a packed-length measurement. If a pack opening or case has a strict size limit, ask the seller or manufacturer for the actual stored configuration before relying on this pole.

The shafts are described as three-section and adjustable. The source also lists nominal section diameters of 18/16/14 mm. Those numbers identify the stepped tube sizes; they do not establish a load rating, durability level or compatibility with a replacement section from another model. I would check the exact CFTQR SKU before ordering parts.

Weight, grip and accessory evidence

Expedition’s page gives 7.2 ounces per pole without the rubber tip and 7.68 ounces with it. Converted for comparison, those are about 204 and 218 grams per pole. They are manufacturer-listed values, not independent measurements and not a pair weight. The product feed has a separate variant mass, but it does not provide a pole-versus-shipping basis; I do not use it to override the listing’s explicit per-pole numbers. Compare like with like when looking at other models, and account for any accessories included in the particular offer.

The page names cork for the grip and a padded wrist strap. Its description calls the grip moisture-wicking, but that is a maker claim rather than a measured comfort or wet-weather result. No extended EVA grip is specified for CFTQR. The listing says the set includes interchangeable mud baskets and rubber tips. It does not say that snow baskets or a carry bag are included. A pair of poles and loose parts appear in the product gallery, but photography alone does not prove a seller’s package count or contents.

No integrated shock feature is documented on the exact CFTQR page. That is an evidence boundary, not proof that no version exists. If shock absorption is essential, compare a model whose exact listing states it—such as the separate CFTP version—and verify the seller’s edition.

Who might shortlist it

On the written evidence, CFTQR is worth comparing when the shopper’s first requirements are carbon-fiber construction, a cork main grip, an external quick-release style and a maximum setting that does not exceed the listed 135 cm range. That combination can narrow a large category before personal fit, pack storage or snow use is considered. A shopper needing a 140 cm setting should not stretch the published range; one needing a confirmed 65 cm packed length cannot verify fit from this page.

The choice between this model and CFTP is not just a label preference. CFTQR’s page supports a quick-release clamp and gives no shock claim; CFTP names a twist lock, adds an EVA down grip and states an anti-shock system. Both are carbon-fiber, three-section listings with the same stated working endpoints, but their unknown packed length and package boundaries remain important. The shopper should compare exact SKUs and not treat the similarities as proof that either product inherits the other’s parts or accessories.

Checks before considering an offer

Confirm that the listing says Expedition Outdoors Carbon Tek Quick Release and CFTQR rather than CFTP or a similarly named CMT Quick Lock pole. Ask whether the offered unit is one pole or a pair; the feed’s one default variant and product imagery do not independently establish quantity. Check the seller’s written list for the mud baskets and rubber tips, and do not assume snow baskets or a bag. If storage clearance matters, obtain a collapsed measurement for the exact stored configuration. Finally, compare the per-pole weight on the same tip basis and follow the product’s own setup instructions. These checks can make the page useful for a requirements-led shortlist, but they are not a hands-on performance verdict or a guarantee about a third-party offer.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Minimum usable length63.5 cm
Maximum usable length135 cm
Manufacturer-listed weight (basis shown in product notes)204.1 g
Adjustable working lengthYes
Shaft materialCarbon fiber
Adjustment lockExternal lever clamp
Grip materialCork or cork-mix
Shaft sections3
Included basketsMud baskets
Shaft storage designTelescoping

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Build a shortlist around your pole-length and trail needs.

The finder compares only documented settings and supplied features. Unknown details are not treated as a match.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →