Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Which Pursuit size reaches a 140 cm setting?
The M/L SKU BD1100669480M_L1 has a documented 140 cm maximum. Its lower usable endpoint is inconsistent across the product page, so verify the exact size and setting before relying on the listed range.
Explore this need in the finder →Will the S/M Pursuit fit a 65 cm packed-length limit?
The product page lists a 62 cm collapsed length for S/M, which is within 65 cm; the M/L listing is 68 cm and exceeds it. Measure your intended pack opening and confirm the seller supplies the selected size.
Explore this need in the finder →Are snow baskets included with the Pursuit Trekking Poles?
Black Diamond lists trekking baskets and snow baskets in the feature set for this product. Confirm that both are in the exact seller's package and that the selected SKU is the pole model, not a compatible basket accessory.
Explore this need in the finder →Are these aluminum or carbon poles?
The manufacturer identifies 7075 aluminum shafts and states 30% UL-validated pre-consumer recycled aluminum in the shafts. That is a different material configuration from the two carbon Pursuit models in this library.
Explore this need in the finder →The standard Pursuit is the aluminum, length-adjustable member of Black Diamond’s Pursuit pole family. Its buying decision is not just “cork versus foam”: the US page offers two grip sizes, and those SKUs have different stated reach and packing lengths. This is a source-based assessment of the current US product page and feed, not a hands-on comfort or trail test.
Choose a grip size and a working range together
The official product feed lists one Charcoal-Octane color and two size variants: S/M, SKU BD1100669480S_M1, shown as 100–125 cm; and M/L, SKU BD1100669480M_L1, shown as 125–140 cm. Black Diamond’s feature copy pairs those same ranges with the S/M and M/L grip sizes. That makes the larger option the only published choice reaching 140 cm. There is an important source conflict to keep in view: the separate specification line lists S/M at 100–125 cm and M/L at 100–140 cm, while the feature copy and product-feed option say 125–140 cm for M/L. The maximum of 140 cm is consistent, but the M/L lower endpoint is not. This assessment therefore treats its minimum as unresolved. If a fit depends on a setting near the lower end of the M/L option, confirm it with Black Diamond or the seller before ordering rather than assuming one of the two statements is correct. The page also maps the S/M and M/L choices to collapsed lengths of 62 and 68 cm and lists weights of 495 and 535 g. Those figures distinguish the size options, but Black Diamond does not state whether the listed weights are for one pole or a pair. A size-specific number is not automatically comparable to another manufacturer’s weight. The feed has separate unlabeled variant-weight values that do not match the product-page figures; we do not treat those as pole weights or use them to “correct” the page.Adjustment, grip and terrain details
The Pursuit uses 7075 aluminum shafts and an external FlickLock+ lever for length adjustment. The manufacturer says the shafts use 30% UL-validated pre-consumer recycled aluminum and that the complete pole contains at least 14% recycled material by finished weight. Those are construction claims, not a performance rating. The product page does not state a shaft-section count, so this review does not assign one. Natural cork is the grip material, with a Bloom algae-infused foam extension for another hand position. Black Diamond describes the grip geometry as comfort-oriented and says the cork manages moisture. That can help you compare the design with foam grips, but it does not establish a comfortable shape for every hand, glove or climate. The S/M and M/L labels are intended as grip-size choices; check the actual handle dimensions and shape if hand fit is a decisive requirement. The feature list names Solution 2.0 wrist straps made with post-consumer recycled fibers, four-season flex tips, trekking baskets, snow baskets and an interchangeable carbide tech tip. It also notes a 1.5 mm hex bit built into the shaft for field maintenance. This is a fuller listed accessory set than the Carbon FLZ page, which explicitly names included snow baskets but does not separately confirm trekking baskets. Still, the exact box contents and number of poles should be checked against the seller’s offer; a product page or photo does not establish the contents of every retail listing.Setup and care are part of the decision
Black Diamond’s trekking-pole instructions explain how its FlickLock lever clamps the lower shaft and how to adjust lock tension if a section slips. The manual warns not to put oil or silicone on the sliding shafts because that can make the joints slip; follow its specific directions for a stiff lever instead. Before and after use, inspect the poles and check that the mechanisms open and close smoothly. After an impact, the manufacturer calls for checking the shafts for dents, scratches, fractures or other damage. These are useful ownership points, not a reason to assume that a lock will never need attention. The other Pursuit models trade different things. Pursuit Carbon FLZ is a folding carbon pole with FlickLock+ adjustment and shorter listed collapsed lengths of 36 and 39 cm. Pursuit Carbon Z also folds, but it has fixed working lengths and no FlickLock length adjustment. The standard aluminum Pursuit is therefore the more adjustable option here, while its 62/68 cm packed lengths are substantially longer than those Z-style designs. These models serve different packing and fitting priorities rather than forming a simple “better” ladder.Who should compare it?
Keep the standard Pursuit on a shortlist if you want cork grips, external-lever adjustment, separate grip sizes and the manufacturer-listed trekking and snow baskets. Select a candidate range based on your real pole setting, then verify the grip size and collapsed dimension against your body and pack. The S/M plan is the clearer choice when you need 100–125 cm; the M/L plan is the one whose published maximum reaches 140 cm, but its lower endpoint needs confirmation. If you need a more compact pole, compare the Carbon FLZ and Carbon Z reviews rather than assuming that an adjustable shaft will pack like a fixed Z-pole. If you need both poles and snow baskets in one purchase, confirm package quantity and included accessories with the seller. The manufacturer lists PFAS content and shipping restrictions for California, New York and Colorado on this product page, so check current regional terms. No price, stock status, personal use, durability test or comfort result is asserted here.Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Minimum usable length | 100 cm |
|---|---|
| Maximum usable length | 140 cm |
| Published weight entries (mapping or basis may be unclear) | 495 / 535 g |
| Published collapsed-length entries (size mapping may be unclear) | 62 / 68 cm |
| Adjustable working length | Yes |
| Grip-size options | S/M / M/L |
| Shaft material | 7075 aluminum |
| Adjustment lock | External lever clamp |
| Grip material | Cork or cork-mix |
| Included baskets | Trekking / Snow |
| Extended grip section | Yes |
| Recycled aluminum in shaft material (manufacturer-validated) | 30% |
| Minimum recycled content by finished weight | 14% |
| Available usable-length ranges | 100–125 cm (S/M option) / 125–140 cm (M/L option; page specification conflict noted) |
| Published collapsed-length entries (size mapping unclear) | 62 / 68 cm |
| Published weight entries (mapping or basis may be unclear) | 495 / 535 g |
| Shaft storage design | Telescoping |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Build a shortlist around your pole-length and trail needs.
The finder compares only documented settings and supplied features. Unknown details are not treated as a match.
