Model assessment · Black Diamond

Black Diamond Distance Carbon Z Poles (105–130 cm fixed-length sizes) review

A fixed-working-length, three-section carbon Z-pole offered in six sizes. Its listed collapsed lengths are size-ordered; the page does not state the basis of its weight figures.

Sources checked 2026-10-29 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Black Diamond Distance Carbon Z pole in Desert Sky, shown in folded sections and assembled.
Official Black Diamond image of the Desert Sky Distance Carbon Z. No performance testing is implied. Black Diamond Equipment manufacturer image
A useful fit for

A source-based option for someone who has already settled on a fixed 105–130 cm working length and wants a folding carbon Z-pole with EVA foam. Its six plans preserve the selected length and ordered packed-size figures.

The main tradeoff

The selected working length cannot be adjusted on trail. Snow-basket inclusion remains unknown, and the feed’s unlabeled variant weights cannot be reconciled with the page’s per-pair specifications. The listed collapsed length should still be checked against the actual pack opening.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Which Desert Sky size reaches a fixed 130 cm setting, and how long does the page list it when folded?

The 130 cm option is SKU BD11255440071301. The manufacturer lists a 44 cm collapsed length for that size in its ordered specifications. Confirm the offer and your real pack opening before relying on it.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are snow baskets included with the standard Distance Carbon Z?

The US product page says the model is compatible with a Z-Pole snow basket and has removable low-profile baskets, but does not state that snow baskets are included. Treat inclusion as unknown until the exact seller package is confirmed.

Explore this need in the finder →
How is this different from the Distance Carbon FLZ?

The Carbon Z uses one fixed working length chosen from six sizes. The FLZ folds for carrying too, but adds FlickLock+ working-length adjustment and comes in three size ranges. Their supplied features and size plans are not interchangeable.

Explore this need in the finder →
What weight basis does Black Diamond publish for the Carbon Z sizes?

The US product page explicitly labels 256, 264, 272, 280, 288 and 296 g as weights per pair, in the displayed size order. The separate feed values have no stated unit or product/shipping basis and are not substituted.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Distance Carbon Z is a fixed-length pole that folds for carrying. Those are separate facts: the Z sections shorten the pole for storage, but do not let you change the working length on the trail. Black Diamond’s US product page lists six sizes from 105 to 130 cm, so the important first step is choosing a size that suits your stance and terrain rather than treating this as an adjustable all-purpose pole. This is a source-based assessment, not a field test.

Pick the fixed length before comparing weight

The official feed identifies six Desert Sky SKUs: BD11255440071051 at 105 cm, BD11255440071101 at 110 cm, BD11255440071151 at 115 cm, BD11255440071201 at 120 cm, BD11255440071251 at 125 cm, and BD11255440071301 at 130 cm. Each is a distinct fixed working length. If you routinely want to shorten a pole for a steep climb or lengthen it for a descent, compare an adjustable model such as the Distance Carbon FLZ instead. The word “Z” describes its folding layout, not variable reach. The product page lists collapsed lengths of 35, 37, 38, 40, 42 and 44 cm in the same ascending order as the six usable lengths. The review’s size plans map those values by the manufacturer’s displayed order. They are specifications, not measurements of the pair in a particular box; if a pack pocket has a strict limit, check the exact offer and allow room for the handle, tips and carry angle. The longest size is listed at 44 cm folded, so a short hydration vest is not an automatic fit. The product page explicitly labels its weight entries as per pair: 256, 264, 272, 280, 288 and 296 g, in the same size order as the six usable lengths. The feed contains a separate set of numeric variant-weight fields without a unit or a product-versus-shipping explanation. I keep those feed values separate rather than treating them as another product weight. No author-measured weight is claimed.

Carbon Z construction and what it means

Black Diamond describes a 100% carbon-fiber shaft, a three-section foldable Z-pole and Speed Cone deployment. The grip and extension are EVA Lite foam, and the Distance strap is described as breathable and moisture-wicking. These are useful design details for comparing size, hand positions and packing style; they do not prove comfort, strength under a fall or a particular durability life. The Z-Pole instructions call for inspection and care of the pole sections, especially after impact or visible damage. Carbon equipment should not be treated as a lever for catching a fall or supporting body weight in an uncontrolled way. The page describes removable low-profile baskets and compatibility with a Z-Pole snow basket. It does not explicitly say that the snow basket is in the box. It also says the interchangeable tip is compatible with carbide and that rubber tech tips are included. Confirm the exact basket and tip package before a winter trip; a compatibility statement is not the same as an inclusion statement, and an online photograph may show components that are sold separately.

How it differs from the nearby Distance poles

The Distance Carbon FLZ is also carbon and folds, but its FlickLock+ lever adjusts length within one of three ranges: 95–110, 110–125 or 125–140 cm. The Carbon Z offers six single lengths instead. If you want the magnetic FKT glove connection, the Carbon Z FKT adds that system and lists snow baskets as included; the standard Carbon Z page does not. Those are meaningful differences in fit, stowage and supplied equipment, even though the product names share “Distance” and “Carbon.” The Carbon Z page also identifies its product as the lightest Z-Pole in the maker’s own line, a comparative claim from the manufacturer rather than an independent measurement. This review does not rank it against poles the author has not tested. The choice is better framed around your working length, acceptable packed space, basket needs and preference for fixed versus adjustable use.

Who should keep it on a shortlist?

It is a candidate for someone who knows a fixed length from 105 to 130 cm is appropriate and wants carbon construction with folding storage. It is less suitable when one pole must cover changing terrain lengths, when the pack limit is below the selected size’s listed collapse, or when snow baskets must be included without further seller confirmation. A two-pole package quantity is not independently established by the page, so confirm how many poles the specific offer contains. Black Diamond’s page flags PFAS content and shipping restrictions to California, New York and Colorado; check current destination rules and the seller’s terms. Confirm the exact Desert Sky SKU, condition, basket package, pole quantity and return policy. No hands-on use, personal comfort result, laboratory measurement or durability test is claimed here.
Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Minimum usable length105 cm
Maximum usable length130 cm
Published weight entries (mapping or basis may be unclear)256 / 264 / 272 / 280 / 288 / 296 g
Published collapsed-length entries (size mapping may be unclear)35 / 37 / 38 / 40 / 42 / 44 cm
Adjustable working lengthNo
Shaft materialCarbon
Grip materialEVA foam
Shaft sections3
Extended grip sectionYes
Available usable-length ranges105 / 110 / 115 / 120 / 125 / 130
Published collapsed-length entries (size mapping unclear)35 / 37 / 38 / 40 / 42 / 44 cm
Published weight entries (mapping or basis may be unclear)256 / 264 / 272 / 280 / 288 / 296 g
Shaft storage designFolding Z-pole

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Build a shortlist around your pole-length and trail needs.

The finder compares only documented settings and supplied features. Unknown details are not treated as a match.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →